The Institute of contemporary art – Boston: Nari Ward’s Sun Splashed, Dana Schultz, Steve McQueen’s Ashes and other contemporary works

So, today I went into Boston and I went to a number of places, including going to an aquarium and Newbury Comics to get the Dungeons and Dragons Starter Kit, but we also went to the Institute of Contemporary Art in Boston. There was a lot of art that I really like, so I’m sharing a bit of it with you.

The first collection is an exhibition by a New York based artist called Nari Ward. A lot of the pieces were politically charged, and they were great.

This piece is the first three words of the US constitution but the entire piece is made of shoelaces.

I’m not sure what this is meant to represent, but I like it:

The next few pieces weren’t as politically charged, but I just liked them as sculptures:

The next piece is quite interesting and is made completely of batteries, mango pits and foam:

This piece critiques the tourism industry as you can read below:

The next exhibition is by another American Artist called Dana Shcutz:

The next couple were just random pieces I found around the gallery:

The next exhibition was an art film by film-maker SteveMcQueen:

Here are some screenshots from both of the films:

The next are also just a couple more miscellaneous works from around the gallery:

And finally, some pictures I took myself:

I also bought a great magazine of contemporary art called JUXTAPOZ, which I’m showing you now:

Anyway, that’s all for now,

Byeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee!

5 thoughts on “The Institute of contemporary art – Boston: Nari Ward’s Sun Splashed, Dana Schultz, Steve McQueen’s Ashes and other contemporary works

  1. Pingback: 100 follower special part 1: The mystery blogger award – The culture club

  2. Pingback: ICA-Part II (Boston, MA) | New England Nomad

Leave a Reply

