Deathnote vol.1 and 2 review

I was seriously surprised by the quality of this story. Usually, when I read manga, I just see mindless violence (Dragon Ball) and I’m most certainly not hating on Dragon Ball, one of my favourite manga, but its nice to have a change. And what a change it is. It is honestly the best manga I have read (Yes, I rank this above Attack On Titan) so far, with a moral dilemma and power play that is so compelling. And to prove my point, take a look at the film Captain America 3: Civil War, a movie that was well received. That movie had a moral dilemma as well, but unlike Death note, the movie was clearly in favour of one side: Captain America’s side. However in Death note, neither side has a moral advantage and it is very hard to take a side. In addition, it takes a look at the darker side of human nature in a way I haven’t seen since the Matrix.  
And then there’s the art. It’s absolutely brilliant, not because of technical skill or style, but because of the emotion the artist manages to bring out within the characters. It serves the story excellently, and uses so much detail within the scenes, unlike some manga where the artist is lazy. 

I seriously don’t have a single complaint with any part of the entire book. It is perfect in every way, from the base idea to the execution. 

Rating: 10 / 10

Leave a Reply

